Postcard For Reader + Waiting on Wednesday

Debut December: Upcoming Books (2)

You ready for some more awesome fantabulous debut books!? I know I am!

Reunited
Author: Hilary Graham
Release Date: 12 June 2012

Add it on Goodreads!

Alice, Summer, and Tiernan are ex-best friends.

Back in middle school, the three girls were inseparable. They were also the number one fans of the rock band Level3.

But when the band broke up, so did their friendship. Summer ran with the popular crowd, Tiernan was a rebellious wild-child, and Alice spent high school with her nose buried in books.

Now, just as the girls are about to graduate, Level3 announces a one-time-only reunion show.

Even though the concert’s 2000 miles away, Alice buys three tickets on impulse. And as it turns out, Summer and Tiernan have their own reasons for wanting to get out of town. Good thing Alice’s graduation gift (a pea-green 1976 VW camper van know as the Pea Pod) is just the vehicle to get them there.

But on the long drive cross-country, the girls hit more than a few bumps in the road. Will their friendship get an encore or is the show really over?

How does Hilary Graham summarize it?: "Why should people read Reunited? Reason #1: there's a road trip. Reason #2: to see a rock band! Reason #3: the three girls on said road-trip are ex-best friends."

Hemlock
Author: Kathleen Peacock
Release Date: May 8 2012

Add it on Goodreads!

Mackenzie and Amy were best friends. Until Amy was brutally murdered.

Since then, Mac’s life has been turned upside down. She is being haunted by Amy in her dreams, and an extremist group called the Trackers has come to Mac’s hometown of Hemlock to hunt down Amy’s killer: A white werewolf.

Lupine syndrome—also known as the werewolf virus—is on the rise across the country. Many of the infected try to hide their symptoms, but bloodlust is not easy to control.

Wanting desperately to put an end to her nightmares, Mac decides to investigate Amy’s murder herself. She discovers secrets lurking in the shadows of Hemlock, secrets about Amy’s boyfriend, Jason, her good pal Kyle, and especially her late best friend. Mac is thrown into a maelstrom of violence and betrayal that puts her life at risk.

How does Kathleen Peacock summarize it?: "Werewolves! Kissing! Murder most foul! In all honesty, Hemlock is really about inner demons and the choices people make. They can allow themselves to become twisted by the past and circumstance or they can fight for something better."

A Breath of Eyre
Author: Eve Marie Mont
Release Date: 1 April 2012

Add it on Goodreads!

Emma Townsend has always believed in stories—the ones she reads voraciously, and the ones she creates in her head. Perhaps it’s because she feels like an outsider at her exclusive prep school, or because her stepmother doesn’t come close to filling the void left by her mother’s death. And her only romantic prospect—apart from a crush on her English teacher—is Gray Newman, a long-time friend who just adds to Emma’s confusion. But escape soon arrives in an old leather-bound copy of Jane Eyre…

Reading of Jane’s isolation sparks a deep sense of kinship. Then fate takes things a leap further when a lightning storm catapults Emma right into Jane’s body and her nineteenth-century world. As governess at Thornfield, Emma has a sense of belonging she’s never known—and an attraction to the brooding Mr. Rochester. Now, moving between her two realities and uncovering secrets in both, Emma must decide whether her destiny lies in the pages of Jane’s story, or in the unwritten chapters of her own…

How does Eve Mont summarize it?: "A Breath of Eyre is about a shy girl who gets transported into her favorite novel, Jane Eyre, and must determine whether her destiny lies in the pages of Jane’s story or in the unwritten chapters of her own. Readers have called it “imaginative,” “layered,” and “romantic.” I think A Breath of Eyre would appeal to fans of Libba Bray’s A Great and Terrible Beauty, Kelly Creagh’s Nevermore, and, of course, Jane Eyre."

Katana
Author: Cole Gibson
Release Date: 8 March 2012

Add it on Goodreads!

Rileigh Martin would love to believe that adrenaline gave her the uncanny courage and strength to fend off three muggers. But it doesn’t explain her dreams of fifteenth century Japan, the incredible fighting skills she suddenly possesses, or the strange voice giving her battle tips and danger warnings. While worrying that she’s going crazy (always a reputation ruiner), Rileigh gets a visit from Kim, a handsome martial arts instructor, who tells Rileigh she’s harboring the spirit of a five-hundred-year-old samurai warrior.

Relentlessly attacked by ninjas, Rileigh has no choice but to master the katana--a deadly Japanese sword that’s also the key to her past. As the spirit grows stronger and her feelings for Kim intensify, Rileigh is torn between continuing as the girl she’s always been and embracing the warrior inside her.

How does Cole Gibson summarize it?: "Summer break just got complicated for Rileigh Martin. After being attacked in the mall parking lot, Rileigh is possessed by the spirit of a fifteenth century samurai. Ninja attacks, samurai swords, and the appearance of a mysterious martial arts instructor only add to her problems. After all, how’s a girl supposed to relax when she’d rather be breaking hearts than breaking bones?"

Something Strange and Deadly
Author: Susan Dennard
Release Date:

Add it on Goodreads!

There’s something strange and deadly loose in Philadelphia…

Eleanor Fitt has a lot to worry about. Her brother has gone missing, her family has fallen on hard times, and her mother is determined to marry her off to any rich young man who walks by. But this is nothing compared to what she’s just read in the newspaper—

The Dead are rising in Philadelphia.

And then, in a frightening attack, a zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor…from her brother.

Whoever is controlling the Dead army has taken her brother as well. If Eleanor is going to find him, she’ll have to venture into the lab of the notorious Spirit-Hunters, who protect the city from supernatural forces. But as Eleanor spends more time with the Spirit-Hunters, including their maddeningly stubborn yet handsome inventor, Daniel, the situation becomes dire. And now, not only is her reputation on the line, but her very life may hang in the balance.

Don't they sound fantabulous? (I, personally, am super excited for A Breath Of Eyre - but that may just be my love of Jane Eyre coming out!) Which one of these are you guys looking forward to?

Debut December, and more:

Debut December: Upcoming Books (2) + Waiting on Wednesday